Did You Know That Diet Sweeteners Can Make You Fat!

19 Feb

Overeat

If you want to reduce the sugar in your diet and lose weight then you need to consume fewer calories. Then you might think that diet food, with artificial sweeteners and zero calories will be great help towards the new lifestyle you’re aiming at. It’s logical so logical to assume that, but in fact studies have shown that it’s not the fact. Diet sweeteners can actually make you fat!

According to research done at Purdue University the results shows overwhelming proof that artificial sweeteners make us fat. In this research a group of people were given artificial sweeteners in their diet, subsequently those individuals had increasing appetite and consumed three times more calories than those individual who were given regular sugar. The conclusion to this study was that it is less fattening to eat regular sugar than artificial sweeteners, event though eating this much regular sugar isn’t good for anyone. American study on 80,000 women showed that those who use artificial sweeteners regularly put on more weight per year than those who do not use them. The findings also showed that the more artificial sweeteners you use, it increases your appetite and makes you crave for more food. So the more sweeteners you eat, the more food you will need. Another study done on rats supports those findings. The rats whose diets contained artificial sweeteners appeared to overeat and become fat more quickly.

Dr. Savard stated in an interview at ABC News  that there is something about diet foods that changes your metabolic limit. Dr. Savard also talked about recent study which included more than 18,000 people. This study showed that if healthy adults consumed one diet drink a day then they could increase their risk of health problems and metabolic disorders by 30-40%.

The conclusion is that if you want to take care of your health, change your lifestyle or lose weight – do not start using artificial sweeteners. It’s not only bad for your health but can also increase your problems and make you gain weight instead of losing it. Therefore you should  make sure that the food you are consuming is free from artificial sweeteners like Aspartame, Saccharin, Candarel, Heremesetas, NutraSweet, Splenda or other brands.

Many diet products contain those sweeteners, f.ex. diet soda,  many sorts of light Yogurt and sugar-free Chewing Gum. If a product is said to be sugar-free, light or diet,  then you should read the labels and see if it contains artificial sweeteners. You will be surprised to find out how many products actually contain these sweeteners.

Sugar Substitutes

9 Responses to “Did You Know That Diet Sweeteners Can Make You Fat!”

  1. Joy is now February 19, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

    Oh no! I usually avoid them but I jst discovered that diet jelly really helps my cravings. I might have to think again 😦

    • momsopinions February 20, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

      I usually use grapes, dried fruits and nuts but of course it contains more calories than diet jelly.

  2. Jae February 19, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    I’ve always tried to buy products that have natural sugar in them. I avoid HFCS too for the same reasons as artificial sweeteners. Our bodies know how to deal with sugar. I think that’s why Mexico Coke tastes better than American Coke. They still use cane sugar. I wish Coke would come out with a cane sugar version, even if it was a little more expensive.

    But I agree with this article. I used to chew sugarfree gum to qualm cravings, but I found instead I was hungrier and craved carbs more. It’s easier, in the long run, to just eat healthy and eat real things.

    • momsopinions February 20, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

      So true, Jae. What surprised me was that when I started reading the labels I found out that artificial sweeteners are in so many products that I used.

      • Jae February 20, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

        I know what you mean. I’ve been trying to go as fresh as I can with stuff and avoid processed food. Junky food isn’t as appealing now, which is nice.

  3. 3babieslater February 19, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    diet coke is my vice and it is stopping me from losing all of my baby weight, I have been desperately trying but for some reason stopping is not that easy, what i am thinking though is it might be better just to have regular coke and deal with those calories until I can wean myself off the coike all together 🙂

    • momsopinions February 20, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      I drink diet coke but after hearing about how bad it is for the health I’ve been trying to stop drinking it. But it’s not easy. I found out that I must quit little by little, otherwise I get a terrible headache.

      • 3babieslater February 21, 2013 at 1:43 am #

        I’m hearing ya, I get the headaches as well, Normally I start out the day really well with serious will power then at the first little hurdle I cave 😦 I will keep trying though it really isnt good for my pocket $$ as well 🙂

  4. gregmercer601 February 23, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

    Interesting results. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

