Embarrassing Moments – caused by kids

14 Jan

My kids are adorable, really they are the most wonderful persons I know. But as lovely as they are, sometimes they can totally make me speechless because of something they say or do. Having kids seems to multiple the opportunities for embarrassing moments for parents. Kids are completely unpredictable and when you’re least expecting they say something that can really make your cheeks turn red and just want to disappear. My most embarrassing moments are related to something they said, something totally inappropriate.

My most embarrassing moment was caused by my oldest daughter. It was in her birthday party, she just turned four. We had invited the whole family, grandparents, great-grandparents, aunts and uncles and other relatives and friends. Everybody stood around the table, getting ready to sing the birthday song. As I was lighting the candles on the birthday cake I heard her whisper something to me. I didn’t hear what she said so foolishly told her to speak louder for me to hear her. Then she said loudly “Mommy why didn’t you wear any panties last night?” Everybody became totally silent and I was speechless, just felt how my cheeks were started to warm up, turning bright red. Then my sister, thank god for her, stepped in and said “Well, let’s light the candles for you, birthday girl.” Then everybody just started talking again and we sang the birthday song for her. No one ever mentioned this incident to me, well except my sister and husband. They thought it was hilarious afterwards and today I can laugh about it, but for years I couldn’t.

A birthday cake

A birthday cake (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2 Responses to “Embarrassing Moments – caused by kids”

  1. goodnight55 January 14, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    This made me giggle! As much as I love my little boy, who can’t actually talk properly yet (only 18 months old), I am just waiting for him to do exactly what you describe…. I know its coming….

    Lovely post 🙂

    • momsopinions January 14, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

      That is something you can count on. It is never funny when it happens but after awhile you can laugh.My youngest one is also 19 month. There is almost a new word each day.

Leave a Reply

