How Green Tea Can Help You to Lose Weight

20 Nov
green tea

green tea (Photo credit: vordichtung)

 

Green Tea is very good for our health and can contribute to weight loss. Since I’m on my way towards healthier lifestyle I would surely appreciate losing a few pounds (or a lot of them) along the way. That’s why I started wondering about Green Tea and its legendary health benefits and the fact that it supposedly aids weight loss.

 

Why is Green Tea good for weight loss? The answer is that it has a multiple effect on the body which I’m going to introduce for you.

 

Most important is the effect Green Tea has on our body’s metabolism. Green Tea increases your metabolism which makes your body burn fat for energy. The International Journal of Obesity states that Green Tea contains polyphenols which causes your body to produce heat that burns off your body fat.

 

Lots of Green Tea weight loss studies have proven that Green Tea lowers blood sugar. A lower blood sugar reduces your cravings making you not eat as much so you won’t gain any weight. This means that Green Tea has also a mild appetite suppressant that makes you eat less. Therefore the weight loss becomes a natural process with green tea.

 

Green Tea works as a diuretic. It helps in the process of  removing excess water weight from your body. Fluid builds up beneath the skin, the feet, ankles, hands or face can look bloated and swollen. The cause for excess water in the body can be bad diet, to little physical exercise or medical reasons.

 

This time it's green tea.

This time it’s green tea. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Related articles

 

 

39 Responses to “How Green Tea Can Help You to Lose Weight”

  1. Joy is now November 22, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    Ok I’m sold. I will give it a try!! Thanks for the tip

    • momsopinions November 22, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      I drink 1-2 cups a day now. You won’t be disappointed it works.

      • Joy is now November 24, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

        OMG it is the magic cure for me!! I ate really badly the last two days, only managed one cup of green tea each day as I only had teabags at work and overnight I have lost so much fluid from my body that my tummy (always a problem area) has shrunk enormously! (and I lost 1 kg/2 lbs) I can’t thank you enough. I will have at least one cup every evening after dinner to rid me of excess water. No more late night coffees!

  2. Jen November 23, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    I have also considered changing to a healthier lifestyle. I started exercising and running for almost 4 months now and it feels so good. I also started eating veggies and skipped fastfood and junk food. A friend of mine also told me to try green tea but didn’t really bother trying it but after reading your post I’ll definitely give it a try 🙂

    • momsopinions November 25, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

      Running is on my list but I’m not up for that yet.For my walking is enough but some day…. It is a great feeling to change lifestyle. It surprised my how affective Green Tea is. Good luck to you Jen.

  3. tsintinay November 25, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    Great post. My metabolism really is “not cooperating” with me. So far, I’m trying to drink at least 2 liters of water each day (its helping :D). Time to add Green Tea to my regimen! TO THE SUPERMARKET!

    • momsopinions November 25, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

      I’ve heard about the effects of Green Tea for a long time.I always thought it sounded too good to be true so I didn’t bother – but I truly wish I had done so sooner.

  4. pierrepeter January 3, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    Sharing this on My blog!

  5. rebfree January 15, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    Thank you for the encouragement! I miss coffee, but the green tea is growing on me. I’m finding some interesting varieties, but I do miss coffee!

    • momsopinions January 15, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

      Old habits are often hard to break. It took me awhile to get used to the taste of Green Tea but now I can’t be without it.

  6. Fifty-two Days January 21, 2013 at 2:00 am #

    Thank you for sharing–very helpful!

  7. modernteacher27 January 30, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    Does anyone know someone personally who drank the green tea and did lose weight and kept the weight off? I saw the ad and Dr Oz ads and was curious whether it was too good to be true.

    • momsopinions January 31, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      Yes, it works for me. I lost few pounds by adding 1-2 cups of green tea, each day, in my diet. It helps me against water retention.

  8. modernteacher27 January 31, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    Inquiring minds want to know -What brand do you like? flavored and does it come decaffinated? There is so much out there. Thanks:)

    • momsopinions February 4, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      My favorite green tea is from Herbalife, called Herbal Tea Concentrate with raspberry flavor. It contains caffeine. But if you prefer caffeine free brand I can recommend Three green tea from Pukka (http://www.pukkaherbs.com/green-tea.html)

      • modernteacher27 February 5, 2013 at 12:08 am #

        Thanks!! From one tea toddler to another!

  9. http://yahoo.com February 10, 2013 at 5:45 am #

    This is certainly the 4th posting, of your website I actually browsed.
    But yet I actually like this specific one, “How Green Tea
    Can Help You to Lose Weight moms-opinions” the best.

    Regards -Kaylene

    • momsopinions March 19, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      Thank you Kaylene, you are so kind. I’ve just noticed your comment and really appreciate it. It’s heartwarming to receive compliment from another blogger.

  10. easy weight loss March 19, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to
    be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

    • momsopinions March 19, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

      Thanks and good luck to you – the trick is to make it a habit.

  11. the blonde gardener March 28, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    Interesting and great info! I’m putting this on my grocery list. Also, thanks for visiting my blog.Brenda

  12. why kids love cats April 11, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

    Hi there to all, the contents existing at this web
    site are genuinely amazing for people knowledge, well,
    keep up the good work fellows.

    • momsopinions April 12, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

      Thanks, it’s inspiring to get compliment.

  13. Nitro Focus No3 Muscle April 21, 2013 at 5:24 am #

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your
    weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  14. Участник:WadeEverh — VirtYola April 23, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this site is genuinely good and the people are actually sharing pleasant thoughts.

    • momsopinions April 24, 2013 at 11:14 am #

      Thank you. I’m so lucky to have all those great people visiting my blog. I’s so thankful for them.

  15. green coffee bean April 29, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new posts.

    • momsopinions April 29, 2013 at 11:06 am #

      No,I’m sorry but I don’t use Twitter.

  16. Slim Green Coffee Reviews May 5, 2013 at 7:59 am #

    Great web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find excellent writing like yours nowadays. I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  17. Sherman May 31, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Thank you for every other great post. Where
    else may just anybody get that kind of information in
    such a perfect approach of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the
    look for such info.

  18. Weight Watchers Evolution July 3, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    Good day! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?

    Thanks a ton!

  19. medical weight loss Clinic cost July 6, 2013 at 12:40 am #

    I’ve attempted for the previous 35 many years to get rid of and Hold OFF my belly entire body unwanted fat. I’ve attempted anything from diet regime pills, personal trainers, every diet regime ever proposed, I
    presently expend on two fitness center memberships, at any offered time, as well as
    have not had the time to suit your needs to utilize the advantages of
    both amongst them in in excess of a year. I’ve to state that only issue that assisted me proven weight loss strategies hoping the ambiance, ease and also availability within the amenities having opened from 5:00a.m correct up right up until 10:00pm would inspire me to continue to be on course, attend several with the cardio classes, aquatics programs, phase lessons etc…

    • momsopinions July 7, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      I share your problem, the weight is a constant battle for me too. Ever since I’ve started this site I’ve been trying to improve my general health and get control over my weight. I feel better and lost few pounds, the trick for my is to improve my lifestyle little by little.

  20. Debb Stanton November 17, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

    I’ve always wondered about that! Thanks for all your research. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How my journey towards healthier lifestyle is going « moms-opinions - November 24, 2012

    […] started drinking 1 – 2 cups Green Tea each day. Ever since I was pregnant with my first child I have been dealing with excess water in my […]

  2. The Secret – Day 28 – 65.6 Kg « Blog Myself Thin - November 24, 2012

    […] Benefits of Green Tea […]

  3. Water Your Body | The Pearly Panty Gates - November 25, 2012

    […] To further improve my new “More Fluids” regimen, I wanna add Green Tea to the list. Thanks to momsopinions for inspiring me! (https://momsopinions.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/how-green-tea-can-help-you-to-lose-weight/) […]

  4. At least! « The Pearly Panty Gates - December 20, 2012

    […] I was suppose to buy some a month ago, but I keep forgetting. According to moms-opinions, drinking green tea helps a lot if you want to lose some weight. I mentioned it on one my November posts. I’m […]

Leave a Reply

