Mom says it all

24 Oct

Sleeping child

Being a parent is the most demanding job in the world – in my opinion. We have to be on call twenty-four seven, always ready to jump out of bed if the child needs us. No matter what. It is the parents duty towards their children to love and protect them, to nurture and care for them.

We are always on call. Sometimes it can get quite frustrating like last night when I woke up with one of the kids calling for me. Of course I hurried to the room, tripping over some toy on the floor. Then as I leaned down to see what’s wrong, I realized that the child was sleep talking –  how frustrating.

No sick days allowed for parents. Parenthood is very challenging and can make you do things that you don´t like. Like few days ago when I had a stomach flu. I was home alone with two of my children, age one and three. Even though I was “stuck” on the toilet I still had to entertain them and keep them out of trouble. So I was sitting there with stomach cramps, singing and playing with dolls – everything to keep them happy. They are too young to be by them self in the apartment so I had no choice. When parents become ill they can’t call in sick because they still need to look after the children.

English: Woman is sitting on a toilet.

There are great rewards. Although being a parent can have it’s bad days then most days are quite rewarding. The joyfulness of watching those little babies as they develop. Seeing their pride as the can finally achieve something new. Being part of their joys and sorrows. Supporting them to achieve their goals. To guide each child to become an independent, mature and a loving adult.

Being a parent is surely one of the most challenging jobs in the world – but it is also has the best rewards.

4 Responses to “Mom says it all”

  1. Mom October 24, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    So very true. I have six children, ages 29, 27, 25 and 14, 12 and 8. It is all consuming. Doesn’t it just define how strong we are when we can be gentle to our children when we are stressed, in pain, upset, tired or sick? I am glad that you are on 24/7 for your kids.

    • momsopinions October 24, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

      That’s true, it is important to stay calm and care for them no matter how stressful the situation can be. I can imagine that you had your share of those moments being a mother of six children.

  2. adivasjourney October 25, 2012 at 4:35 am #

    It’s like you read my mind lol.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mom says it all « Zenith's thoughts - October 25, 2012

    […] Mom says it all. […]

Leave a Reply

