Grandparents are important

15 Oct

Matti

Grandparents can be an essential support for families and I am so thankfull for mine. Last week I got a call from my parents asking if they could invite the kids to stay with them this weekend and of course I said yes.  The children were thrilled when they heard the news, they love spending time with their grandparents. On friday my parents arrived and picked up the kids. Even though I always miss the kids when I am not with them having a little time for myself  is very tempting and makes it possible for me and my husband to do something fun together – like romantic dinner at a nice restaurant.

This weekend was used to carry out the tasks that I never find the time for when I´m looking after the kids and to nurture the relationship with my husband. What a wonderful weekend this has been. Sleeping late to the morning and being able to nurture myself isso valuable – this I never have time to do when the kids are here.  Despite having achieved  to solve so many tasks that have waited a long time to be done and staying up late with my husband I feel so rested and relaxed.

When the kids came home on sunday the were in such a good mood and had so many stories to tell us about their adventures over the weekend. This has been a good weekend for them as well. I´m so thankful for grandparents – they really are the best!

English: A grandfather teaching his little gra...

2 Responses to “Grandparents are important”

  1. Stephyy October 23, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Yes. They are. I grew up in the presence of my grand parents because my parents were hardly around. And now, I really felt like they were my parents. Now that they are getting older and weaker.. I felt like I should take good care of them and never let one moment pass without letting them feel and know how thankful I am for their sacrifices. Maybe I should go make a post about this! hahaha. Thank you! 🙂

    • momsopinions October 24, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      Thank you Stephyy. I was also very close to my grandparents but they passed away many years ago. That is why I think it’s very important that my children have a good relationship with their grandparents.Actually I think it’s a good idea for you to write a post about the importance of grandparents. I don’t thingk that randparents look at it as sacrifice to take care of their grandchild. They rather think about the joy to be able to take care of the person they love. You are lucky to have such a caring persons in your life.

Leave a Reply

