Do you wake up with puffy eyes – then you should read this!

18 Jan

English: Example of eye bags

If you wake up with puffy eyes or bags under your eyes –  then you might have excess water in your body also known as Edema. It occurs from excess fluid buildup under the eyes, commonly referred to as eye bag. The skin around the eyes is very thin and is full of blood vessels which make it very sensitive. The cause is usually linked to modern lifestyles and hormonal fluctuations. Things that can cause puffy eyes are Lack of sleep, Stress,Diet that is high in salt and Hormonal issues (f. ex. during pregnancy or menstruation). Other causes that can lead to puffiness are Crying, Changes in the weather can cause puffy eyes or too much Alcohol consumption. Usually puffy eyes will go away after a little bit of time.                                                                                

Sometimes puffy eyes might be symptoms of other conditions that may require examination by an eye care professional such as allergies, diabetes or side effect of several types of medication                                                                                                                                                               

Excess fluid can also build up in other body tissues. The condition occurs mostly in the feet, ankles and legs, but can develop anywhere in the body.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        

How to prevent the bags from developing:                                                                                                                                                                                      

  • Sleep with the head elevated, it prevents fluids from accumulating around your eyes. Make sure you get enough sleep.                            
  • Cut back on salt intake.                                                                                                                                                                                                            
  • Drink water to clean out your system, but don’t drink to many fluids right before going to sleep.                                                                
  • Cranberry juice is a natural diuretic to help reduce fluid retention and aid in weight loss.                                                                                      
  • Use a cold compress on puffy eyes. You can use cooling gel mask for eyes, or moisten two tea bags in cold water, chill them in the refrigerator and place them over closed eyelids for several minutes. Wash your face with ice-cold water. This should reduce the puffiness.    
  • Take good care of your skin. Don’t use oil-based makeup. The oil can cause the skin under the eyes to swell and become inflamed. Water-based and/or gel-based makeup is less harsh for sensitive skins. Avoid placing wrinkle remover cream near the eyes. It can cause too much hydration and puffiness is the result. Always wash your makeup off each night, as the residue can fill the pores causing swelling.            
  • Wash face with ice-cold water                                                                                                                                                                                                      
  • Cream for puffy eyes. Try a soothing eye cream with aloe and Vitamin E.                                                                                                            
  • Diuretics can help with water retention, so taking one can sometimes help the body expel excess fluids, but only use under the advice of a doctor.
7 Responses to “Do you wake up with puffy eyes – then you should read this!”

  1. koyoandi January 19, 2013 at 5:20 am #

    Good tips, not just for eyes, but overall health as well! I have to laugh though, I was reading the tips on preventing bags from developing and happened to be finishing a big glass of water…just before bed.

    • momsopinions January 20, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

      Hahaha, I used to do that too!

      • Tracy Campbell March 31, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

        Your tips were excellent. I tend to drink a lot of water at night as well.
        I’ll have to try not too.
        Thank you very much for the like on my post over at Family and Faith Matters.
        I hope you’re enjoying your Easter weekend.
        Tracy :-)

  2. Nativegrl77 May 29, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by … and the like ! a topic and practice that needs more PR

  3. boldbohemian June 10, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    Just to add my two cents, low sodium diet also help under eye dark circles.

  4. Rebecca June 14, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    As long as I avoid salt, I’m good to go. Thanks for the like on “twenty-four hours later.”

  5. Elizabeth February 25, 2014 at 7:17 pm #

    Thank you! Great tips and hoping this will not only help under eye swelling that I noticed is mostly when I wake up and slowly alleviated during the day. Also, I have dark circles. It’s tough for me to elevated my pillow as I have had neck spinal fusion surgeries, so the pillow I use is pretty mushy/memory pillow. I can’t sleep on a pillow that is thick or my neck really hurts a lot more. I have seen some infomercial for this wedge that goes behind your pillow and against the headboard, but I will find an alternative maybe a towel rolled up to not lift my neck but just a little ‘hill’ behind my head to lift a tiny bit. I am trying to pinpoint my under eye swelling/dark circles and it’s between winter/dry air allergies (I have a humidifier and run it all night so I’d like to think the humidity in my room is normal though. I have tried under eye creams or gels, but so far none have worked so I do have vitamin e and also aloe. I have found that this clear aloe I have, I can usually not have near my eyes or my eyes burn like as if I was cutting onions. I’ll try the vitamin e again.b I have liquid vitamin e or this creamy thick vitamin e in a plastic small tub/jar. I forgot about those eye gel packs from the freezer. I may have one in the freezer I have in the garage and will check. So allergies, or pillow issue, or lack of sleep. I haven’t been sleeping very well, but even when I do get good sleep the dark circles remain. It may also be medication related as I take a blood pressure medication and back pain issue meds, as well as sleep meds. If I could, I would not take a single medication, but I have no choice at this time. I don’t wear makeup other then eyeliner/chapstick, so I don’t wear concealer to hide the dark circles and prefer not to. Also, since my mom passed away just over a year ago, I never know what day will bring some tears, so to wear concealer won’t work for me right now. I also personally feel the more makeup worn, the more likely face breakouts. I don’t know. I have a bunch of makeup, but most I really need to throw out as they are older. Thank you again for all these tips, very helpful! Going to check if I have that eye icepack now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 348 other followers

